Get to know our history
About the awards

Welcome to the Better Collective Greek Bookmakers Awards by We are delighted to confirm the Greek Bookmaker Awards will take place on Tuesday 11th of July 2023 alongside iGB Live! at an exclusive and intimate ceremony in Amsterdam.

At, players and sports bettors are at the heart of everything we do, and we want to provide them with the best information on Greek bookmakers to help them make the best choices for their individual needs. We created these awards for Greek based bettors to enable them to do just that.

Our categories are determined after extensive market research. This allows us to get to the heart of what bettors in Greece want, how they make purchase decisions and what factors they care about when choosing a bookmaker. The awards process is fully transparent and all of the results are data driven, the result of 12 months of data collection and live testing across the market.

The winners will be presented in Amsterdam, where we will celebrate the best bookmakers in Greece alongside the Better Collective Awards for Denmark, Sweden, Poland, Romania and the UK. You can find more details on the categories below or to learn more about the process and the methodology please visit the Awards homepage.

All the practical details
If you would like to attend the event please drop us an email. All of our awards ceremonies are invite only, when you attend you do so as a guest of Better Collective, we don’t sell tables or seats. The only thing that determines how you rank is the data.
Date & timings

Amsterdam 11th of July 2023 – Venue to be announced

19.00 Welcome drinks reception

20.00 Dinner

21.30 Awards ceremony

22.30 After Party

02:00 Carriages

Dress code

Black tie


We very much look forward to welcoming you to the Better Collective Greek Bookmaker Awards in Amsterdam, the venue will be announced shortly. Please be assured we will follow all government guidance in line with live events in a COVID-19 environment. Your safety and enjoyment are paramount to us.

Where to Stay

We will announce the location of the 2023 Awards shortly so that you are able to plan your trip. If you need a recommendation please reach out to us!

Let the show begin
Your hosts 2022
Christos Sotirakopoulos

Your Host for the evening will be none other than Christos Sotirakopoulos. Christos began his career as a journalist at the same period he began studying Political Studies in Italy in 1979.

His first newspaper was “Apogevmatini” which included some of the top journalist of the time period and simultaneously working on the Italian newspaper Tuttosport and “Athlitiki Icho”.

His biggest opportunity came in 1983 where he became the co-host of the Hellenic Broadcasting Corporation’s (ERT) Sunday sport program. (Athlitiki Kyriaki).

In 1990 he transferred to MEGA, staying for 23 years where his voice can be associated with the broadcasts of Champion’s League and from 2003 till 2014 he also collaborated with Nova. From 2015 onwards he worked at Cosmote TV and at the same time wrote for big Newspapers such as VIMA, EPIKAIROTITA, 24 ORES, SPORTIME, GOAL NEWS, SPORTDAY as well as international papers such as WORLD SOCCER, FOURFOURTWO, INDEPENDENT, TELEGRAPH.

In 1994 he founded the Sports Reporting Centre, the first school of Athletic Journalism and also the radio channel SPORFM. He won the PSAT awards for best television program in 1999, and in 2000 and 2016 for best radio program and in 2021 for best researched website article. For ten years straight (1999-2008) he won the title of Favorite Sportscaster of TV Ethnos and in 2007 as Radio persona of the year of Status Magazine.

He is author of the books “50 years of Champions Cup, Game without Limits, Sunday Idols,, World Cup Moments, Trip to the Stars and Football Talk.

Nikos Dabizas

Co-presenter will be the talented Nikos Dabizas. He was a great football player, having played for many big teams. The peak of his career was when he won the EURO 2004 title with the National Team of Greece.

He has played for Olympiacos, Newcastle, Leicester, Larissa, leaving his mark everywhere. He won the Greek championship twice with Olympiacos. He also managed to win the cup with Larissa, in 2007. His love for football has kept him close to the sport even after the end of his career as a footballer.

So, he has been the sport director of Panathinaikos and Omonoia Nicosia. Nikos Dabizas continues to be in the football industry, having much more to offer.

How we do it

Players and sports bettors are at the heart of everything we do, and we want to provide them with the best information on the industry to enable them to make the best choices based on their needs.

Based on this all major bookmakers will be automatically included in our awards process. We created the categories after speaking to the community so we really know what matters to them. As a result the awards categories can change depending on the market, so if you see an award in Greece that doesn’t appear in Sweden, that’s why. If you think there is something missing, the let us know.

This is the process we have created to make the Better Collective Bookmaker Awards the most robust and beneficial to our users, your customers.

  • Run a large-scale survey on betting habits, markets and sports on all main sites
  • Review of data collected ongoing each month
  • Country-based focus groups held to clarify findings and gain a better understanding of bettors
  • Awards categories confirmed by market research
  • Data collection commences
  • Data reviewed on a monthly basis
  • Weighting of all data based on survey results and final scoring
  • Winners confirmed
  • If you have any questions at all about the process please feel free to get in touch as we would be happy to answer any questions you may have.

      The Data

      This year we were able to collect data from a full 12 months and are continuing to do so each month or, as per our methodology, as deemed appropriate to measure effectively. This means our awards do not represent a single snapshot in time, but rather a more comprehensive view of each operator’s offering, with data gathered over a longer period of time.


      If you are interested in working with us on the awards please get in touch with Shona who will be happy to have a chat about how we could best work together. We don’t believe in one size fits all and want to work with brands that share our values.

      Player’s Choice

      We want to hear from the bettors. This is the award every bookmaker wants to win. This is the community’s opportunity to vote for the bookmaker they think is the very best in the Greek market. Voting for this award will be hosted on and on social media in Greece. We encourage you to engage with your bettors and ask them to vote for you. Nominations open in Spring 2023.

      Do you have any questions
      Contact us
      If you would like any further information on The Greek Bookmakers Awards by Betarades please contact
      Shona ODonnell
      awards gold icon
      Head of Strategic Events
      Shona ODonnell
      Kyriakos Fourniadis
      awards gold icon
      Director of Strategy BC Greece
      Kyriakos Fourniadis
      Shona ODonnell
      awards gold icon
      Director BC Greece
      Theodoris Riganis